San Bernardino County Medical Society William L. Cover, M.D. **Outstanding Contribution to Medicine Award** presented to I. Hunter Crittenden, M.D. this fourteenth day of April, nineteen hundred and ninety-three

Doctor I. Hunter Crittenden has been a member of the Medical Society for thirty-three years. In addition to his many contributions to committees and commissions, he served as President in 1988/1989. His leadership abilities are also well known to the Hinterland Pediatric Society and the California Society of Pediatric Cardiology, where he served as President of each organization.

Doctor Crittenden has contributed a great deal to the practice of pediatrics and cardiology in the communities of San Bernardino County and was in fact a member of the first group of physicians in the United States to receive accreditation as a pediatric cardiology specialist. In 1960 he co-founded the Inland Heart Center, the first non-university affiliated group in California. He has been the Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at St. Bernardine Medical Center since 1960. He also served as the President of the Medical Staff and Chairman of the Pediatric Division and Credentials Committee at that institution for many years.

Doctor Crittenden has been President of the local and state chapters of the American Heart Association and has also been active on the national level as a member of the American Heart Association National Program Committee.

His contributions to pediatric cardiology have not been confined to our county, state or continent. He has traveled to Asia, Latin America and Africa visiting universities and hospitals, lecturing and caring for patients; including a 1986 trip when he traveled with a surgical team to Korea. There he participated in the correction of defects in twenty-one children in three weeks time.



Because of his tireless contributions to medicine over nearly four decades, the San Bernardino County Medical Society is very pleased to present the 1993 William L. Cover, M.D. Outstanding Contribution to Medicine Award to Doctor I. Hunter Crittenden.

Stephen J. Wierzbinski, M.D., President